There is a voice ringing in my head, like someone calling me from outside the door. I can’t hear anyone knocking at the door, but still this feeling reverts again and again in some twisted corner of my brain, or mind, whatever. I hate going through this commotion of joy ride between the physical and the metaphysical. It was getting hot with each day as if the vacation had overstretched its stay. The college won’t provide for air-conditioning for us. Anyways it’s too much to ask I think. Oh damn, I am thinking again. The noise that was lingering for a while before, like a snake does when it slips behind your carpet and waits for you to become oblivious of your world, has entered again. Someone was constantly calling me by my first name and still it seems like a distant voice in the lanes of time. I better flush the toilet and check the door if someone is actually outside. These bastards will never let me sleep. It is already dawn and I have a class early too. They better not be playing any pranks on me now.

The lights are not dim, but still I can’t see any shadow. The stairs are empty too. Must be someone talking while climbing down, or up, oh……how does it matter. I can’t wait another moment. Have to crash. Good night strangers.

“Hey, I am talking to you.”

What? Who was that? Did someone sneak in when was checking the stairs? Not possible. I was there at the entrance the whole time. Better sleep or that class is going to bug me for the rest of my life.

“If you continue ignoring me like this you will miss a very special opportunity in your life.”

Damn you guys. What did you give me to……? Can I question you guys in my thoughts? It doesn’t make sense right! But why I am even thinking that. Better start counting sheep. Or better prime numbers. Chuck it! Goodbye …..!

“Yes, I know you enjoy being tortured like this. Going after smoke, at first racing like a horse, rapidly through this maze of dark woods, but eventually falling asleep and get devoured by the endless labyrinth of dreams. But mark my words! You are also the element of eventuality. It has to happen. Doesn’t matter in which realm of existence. This might be the only chance to your freedom. From my point of view, you have already dimmed your chances. If you want to go any further, concentrate on the image that forms when your eyes are closed. You will see me, or rather a mere shadow I am afraid.”

What is this? I don’t remember any movie with a plot like this. Then why am I seeing a white creature in front of me, with my eyes closed? Maybe I am in a dream, and too lazy to wake-up, so why not float with it. That creature doesn’t seem to be hostile, although I can’t make out if that is a male or a female.

“Ok, so what’s your point? And also, by the way, who are you?”

“Great, we are having a conversation then?”

“Whatever you say. Let’s get over with it and get my deep REM sleep.”

“Well, that is no way to talk to a peer.”

“Oh then, you are a peer. Which would mean I might probably know you.”

“Don’t be a fool. You know me much better than you can ever guess. It is a different thing that you don’t acknowledge my presence just to avoid being free from this maze.”

“So you are God? If I am not wrong?”

“Oh yes, I forgot you will adhere to your practice of hiding behind the walls of atheism to lie down and relax until you fall asleep. Go there if you want. That is one reality I will choose to accept. It is not I who is losing anyways.”

This one is pretty intense. I may have to indulge a bit to get rid of it.

“That’s pretty deep stuff. You are good. But still I will have to ask this without delay, that what is your point. Unless you yourself want me to be bored till death with your convoluted language which seems kind of like what I would have said if I had some knack for artistic thing, or the other possibility being if I was a quack philosopher. Either way, you better get to the issue.”

“The issue, my dear friend of the past, is that you have forgotten too much to realize what mess you are in. I did that long ago in my reality and have come now to tell you the way you can also leapfrog many millennia at once and be free of this labyrinth you have internalized within yourself.”

“Ok, so show me the way, or whatever story you want to build.”

“You have to understand that there are more than one realities where consciousness exists. It is not something that I can easily explain. That is the reason you have failed to categorize in the way you do among your kind, male and female. You have to accept the fact that every reality has a different way of communicating with each other. In mine, I can talk to you in space where both our realities meet.”

That was a good one. This should better be going somewhere else I will have to open the last can of beer to sleep.

“So what is it that you have discovered that you want to tell me so badly?”

“I don’t expect gratitude. We have surpassed that dimension long ago when expecting was a full-time job, a well paying one too, but the kind that killed many between the motions and left a part of life burnt in others.”

“Wow! you are funny too, in your analogies. If you people had jobs, does it mean you have somehow obtained gadgets to send messages through what you call as realities?”

“The means of this communication is still something you can’t fathom with all your will, it is beyond your imagination. I am trying to speak in your language as much as possible, so listen before you lose this feeble attention of yours. Don’t chase the myths. There is no explanation! It is all a vast sphere of eventuality composed of infinite layers, one of them being time in your sense. Know that everything is eventual, in one way or another. So, whatever has been and will be, again in your sense, is just one of its elements. Your choices till now have been one such expression, but the ones that you have thought of but did not pursue or the ones that you haven’t even thought of, are all such elements of eventuality happening somewhere and in some form.”

“You mean whatever I do is inconsequential and I am just a piece to fulfill this reality.”

May be, if you can understand it in your own way, but I may have to come back to connect again.”

“Hey wait a sec. If everything is inconsequential, why are you preaching me?………………..You there?”

Where is it? Gone? I wonder who was it? Did it complete or was it just a turn in its long winding path? Am I speaking like how that shape was? Oh what the hell. Better this way. I feel relaxed. As water flowing over a waterfall, freely. But why do I hear one right now? Damn! I knew it. They had definitely put something in the joint. I am still at the flush. Must have slept standing. Next step after seeing with eyes closed I guess. What is that song playing on the laptop? Must be on autoplay, but I have heard it before.

And who are you, the proud lord said,
that I must bow so low?
Only a cat of a different coat,
that’s all the truth I know.
In a coat of gold or a coat of red,
a lion still has claws,
And mine are long and sharp, my Lord,
as long and sharp as yours.
And so he spoke, and so he spoke,
that lord of Castamere,
But now the rains weep o’er his hall,
with no one there to hear.

The song is ‘The rains of Castamere’ from Game of Thrones. Here is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HilAVhm3BqI

Ravikant is a Guest Author for LSD. He wrote this story while…………well you will have already figured out after reading. This story was originally published at Ravikant’s blog

